Get Timers Now!
X

May 14 - 20:05:50
Page:  1 
Was it REALLY that great? Started by: Tension on May 16, '14 18:25

I’m relatively new to these shores and for that reason I don’t talk a lot, mainly because I try not to run my mouth about things I may not have all the facts on. What I do instead is listen, I listen to almost anything, most people like to talk it seems. It gives more insight into people and who doesn’t like to be more informed? But today I Would like to break form my normal pattern of being the Empathetic ear and do a little talking of my own.

Through all my listening one thing keeps repeating like an echo from family to family, person to person, bloodline to bloodline. The “good old days”, when everything was right with the world, this perfect utopia where the best CLs commanded respect ruling under the greatest godfathers that have ever graced anyone’s presence. Ok maybe I’m exaggerating a bit, but for someone who wasn’t there that’s what it sounds like. It sometimes feels like a constant bombardment of how much life sucks nowadays and how great it was when their parents or grandparents walked these streets. And damn if I have to hear about New Orleans one more time I might just go postal.  As someone whose ancestry does not reach back as far as most, the sheer consistency of that phrases use begs a few questions to be asked.