Get Timers Now!
X

Apr 24 - 22:57:31
Page:  1 
Walking with The Walker Brand Started by: RobertMorris on Dec 27, '18 20:23

My pa' was a big guy.

I knew this very well. He certainly reminded me of such, aided by his trusty belt. But I don't resent him - he was only making a man out of me.
To him, beating me was a necessary evil. I felt the depths of hell, when I told him I didn't want to go to college. And the truth is, he got it his own way.

Years later, I was an accountant. I had a stable job, and I would have a family - if I wasn't so god damn miserable. But I was making an honest living, I was making good money. His job as a father was done. He was proud of me, no longer a lost teenager but a productive member of society - living, breathing in the fabric of society he had worked so hard to maintain in the little town we came from.

That little county's sheriff department, rotting old. The chipped paint showed clearly that the town's order was more of pa's will than the state's resources. It didn't care much for us back home, and we didn't care much for the state. Pa' was the only order we needed - and he brought that sense of duty home with him, every day. At least since mother passed away.

Last time I saw him, it was in his office.

I remember the fateful day like it was yesterday. It was pa's birthday, and I picked him up for lunch in my new car. He admired it - said he liked the red paint. We had lunch at the diner we would so many times eat at. He ordered my favorite meal, for both of us. I gave him a little gift, a snub nose .38 special with beautiful antler grips. This all feels so vaguely distant, looking back. Unreal, almost. Despite being only a few months ago.