Get Timers Now!
X

May 03 - 19:16:04
Page:  1 2 [ > - >>> ]
Who were your mentors? Started by: Wayne on Jul 06, '21 17:43

So I was having a gander at the "who was your first crewleader" thread, and a lot of the replies have similar sentiment to my own experience: your first crewleader isn't always necessarily your mentor. It got me thinking on my past mentor(s) and what they taught me about the game. For me personally, I've had many mentors over the years, who taught me different parts of the game at different times in my development. I expect many other people have had similar experiences, in the fact that no single person taught them everything they currently know about the game. Hell, I've been here for 17 years ish off and on, and I'm still learning shit all the time.

When I first started way back in the day, my irl buddy BigLawson taught me the basics - how to petty, felony, deal drugs etc. From there, I learned things from one of my early crewleaders, Evsie: where to find a toolbar with timers (they weren't always part of the game itself, you young bucks may not know), how to behave in public etc.

After about a decade of being an absolute shitter, I was taught some of the finer points of the game. Toaly gave me my first handjob and taught me how to be responsible and handle situations as they arose, and gave me a starting point on how to be a leader. KingSao and Draven taught me the basics of shooting, before Vazzi and Phil_Steak expanded on that and made me the beast I am today. 

I was always a decent writer, even in school, so I had a decent base to work from there. But I learned the finer points of 'Mafiareturns writing' simply from reading and watching other great writers - Grin, Kates, and Marietta come to mind. I never learned from them directly, but I saw how they presented themselves and their thoughts in how they spoke and I learned much from it.