Get Timers Now!
X

Apr 26 - 07:07:37
Help
2 Watchers
Page:  1 2 [ > - >>> ]
Roleplaying v Character Perspective Started by: Bacon on Jan 07, '22 16:48

Staying In Character:

ALWAYS ALWAYS ALWAYS stay in character. Its the most important thing about role-playing. If you're not in character, you're not playing a role. To misquote Shakespeare: All the world's a page, and we are but its pen. Your pen must always reflect that character.

I thought it may be beneficial to bump this thread and highlight roleplaying of posting IC. I’m not a proponent of this character perspective method as it detracts from its intended purpose. Also, the fact a characters perspective doesn’t take into account or address nuances associated with 1950s lifestyle or criminal history contextual. My two cents.

Cheers,

Report Post Tips: 2 / Total: $40,000 Tip

*SOURCE: https://mafiareturns.com/comm/thread/3908#5746816

Report Post Tip

I've read this a couple of times and I'm not sure what you're driving at. Can you elaborate?

Report Post Tips: 1 / Total: $20,000 Tip

Can you clarify what you'd like me to elaborate?

The topic is related to the following communication from Jen:

Sent as AdminTeam by Jen.
If I were to delete any post that did not contain RP in the form of actions, 90% of the streets would need to be deleted. Even just having a conversation from the perspective of your character and keeping the context to the time era, and character is not OOC. 

This is set in the 1930's not the 1950's. Beyond that, I have no idea what your problem is. Your "source" link is perfectly written. Everything is explained. 

right, im trying to figure out that fine line. where does it not become character perspective? I mean I thought streets was 100% RP but employing "perspective" isn't roleplaying in my book so I don't know how to know the limit as the lines are muddled. 

Report Post Tip